Vaidik Puja

The Pancha Poojas

According to the traditional Vedic system, the Hindus are prescribed five daily Vedic pujas for all round prosperity and to ward off all evils. The pancha pujas are: Ganesha Pooja, Soorya pooja, Shiva Pooja, Devi Pooja and Vishnu Pooja.

There several types of poojas of these deities and some of them can take a whole day. The way a pooja is performed also varies depending on ones regional and traditional back ground. Various pooja books and websites prescribe long preparations and rituals for poojas. It is not possible for every one to perform a pooja like an ordained Vedic priest.

Hence our scriptures allow one to do a pooja "Yatha shakti" or as per ones capability and convenience. Doing it with faith is what really matters. The minimum is: light a lamp and an incense stick and offer some prasad – if you don't have anything at home the simple milk or sugar will do. You can rest assured that that the Gods will not curse you! Preferably keep an idol or photograph of the deity.

We are giving here a brief and simple to perform pooja of the above five deities. Also included is the famous Sri Chakra pooja which is not normally found.

  • Pujas
  • Ganapati Homam
  • Satyanarayana Puja
  • Mahashivaratri Puja
  • Shri Rama Navami Puja
  • Hanuman Jayanti Puja
  • Narasimha Jayanti Puja
  • Mangala Gowri Vrata
  • Varalakshmi Puja
  • Shri Krishna Janmashtami Puja
  • Ganesha Chaturthi Puja
  • Ananta Chaturdashi Puja
  • Mangala Gowri Puja
  • Navaratri Puja/Devi Puja
  • Sarasvati Puja
  • Diwali Puja/Kedareshwar & Dhanalakshmi Puja