The 12 Astrological Houses: their Meaning

Astrological houses describe a specific field of experience in the native's real life. They indicate how the person functions, whether in his interactions with other people, his work, or his love affairs, etc.

As with the 12 zodiacal signs, there are 12 astrological houses, and each house is in analogy with one of the signs. However, contrarily to signs, which spread invariably over 30 degrees of the zodiacal circle, house sizes may greatly vary from one house to the other. House calculations are based on the exact birth time.

The cutting of the chart into 12 houses, referred to as "House system", varies from one astrologer to another. There are several methods: Placidus - the most ancient one, dating back to the 17th century - equal houses (with variants), Koch, Regiomontanus, Campanus, Alcabitius, Topocentric, Morinus, etc.

It is important to note that most astrologers consider that whenever a planet is near a house cusp, it belongs to the said house. The threshold from a given house to the next depends on the authors' approach. It may vary from 1° to 6°, sometimes 8° or 10°. Some astrologers, quite the minority, prefer not to follow this rule. On Astrotheme, by default, we have chosen the Placidus system, and we take a classical stand, as far as the threshold is concerned. Thus, a planet found at less than 3° of the following house is considered to be in that house. We apply 2° in the case of the AS and the MC. On certain applications or on the Astrological Portrait, we offer the possibility to change these options and to select the equal houses or the Koch system. You may also decide to cancel the shift into the following house. Please note that such shift never involves the sign: a planet posited at 29°29'29" Taurus is in this sign, and by no means in Gemini. When it comes to signs, total change is the rule, contrary to houses.

As we wrote earlier, houses represent a specific area of life. We provide their meaning here: